Your Heart In Mine

Photo by Atharva Dharmadhikari on Unsplash

If I were to live a life,

With your heart in mine,

Fear would not exist,

Doubt would cease to be,

My pain would know of joy,

And the absence of love,

It could never be present.

If I were to know love,

With your heart in mine,

My world would

Comfort your soul,

Until the end of time,

I would dress each day

With the happiness you deserve,

And bathe in beauty,

Every corner of this earth.

If I were to breathe,

With your heart in mine,

The winds would turn calm,

And soothe my troubled mind,

I wouldn't waste a day,

If I had you in my arms,

Like never before,

I would renounce myself to you,

For there is no reason

Nor meaning,

Without your presence,

You are my only light.

Wallis May Streete

Mother of three. Freelance writer. Poet. Lyricist. Dreamer. “We are lost souls trying to find the light, and when we do, we dance with shadows.”