Tiny Story of a Midnight Encounter

Wallis May Streete
2 min readMar 13, 2024
Photo by Mayur Gala on Unsplash

It was New Year’s Eve

In New York City,

I saw you at the party

Across the room,

And you looked so pretty.

We had never met before,

But had friends in common,

As you came through the door,

My heart raced,

And I couldn´t find the words

To say hello.

You wore a pink ribbon

In your long brown hair,

A long flowy dress,

And a gold necklace,

That spelt Claire.

The year two thousand,

Was a few minutes away,

My hands were shaking,

As I asked you to stay.

The lights went out,

And people cheered,

The countdown began,

As we drank our beers.

You held me close,

Told me to pretend I was your man,

I looked into your eyes,

And kissed your cheek,

--

--

Wallis May Streete

Mother of three. Freelance writer. Poet. Lyricist. Dreamer. “We are lost souls trying to find the light, and when we do, we dance with shadows.”