I Never Got To Say Goodbye

Wallis May Streete
2 min readJul 17, 2022

--

Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

Once upon a time

We were madly in love,

Our hearts felt divine,

And our souls became one,

We shared a home

With the seasons of time,

And had two beautiful kids,

That blew my mind.

What a wonderful life we shared,

When you were my wife,

Once in a lifetime chance,

That we held onto so tight.

We created memories

That will last forever,

We knew each other well,

And nothing else mattered,

Loving without judgement,

Being compassionate,

Just listening,

The world was us,

It was you and me,

Living happily

Through life's ups and downs,

We were a family,

The best there could be.

Until one day,

Heaven decided

To take you away,

Maybe it had plans,

For you to dance

Amongst the stars,

And make them shine brighter

With the beauty in your heart,

But you left,

And I was adrift in the dark.

I never got to say goodbye,

You were gone,

And all I could do was cry,

Completely broken,

I didn't know where to start,

Remembering your smile

Is what kept me alive,

If only you could see

I was dying inside.

The day you left,

I could not breathe,

I could not move,

I didn't know how

I could live without you,

The sky turned grey,

The birds did not sing,

The sun couldn't shine,

And the moon was in tears.

I walked a thousand miles

To see if I could find you,

But you were someplace else,

And I couldn't bring you back.

My being and my purpose,

Was in your name,

And all that I have now

Is your love,

Sketched upon

The memories we made.

Without doubt,

You were the one,

My greatest joy,

My reason for living.

Goodnight, my love,

Goodnight,

I wish I had got to say goodbye.

--

--

Wallis May Streete

Mother of three. Freelance writer. Poet. Lyricist. Dreamer. “We are lost souls trying to find the light, and when we do, we dance with shadows.”