I Am Half A Man Without You

Wallis May Streete
1 min readAug 10, 2022

--

Photo by Radu Florin on Unsplash

I have built failing castles,

And walked through

The corridors of pain,

The sky mourns by my side,

And the stars gently weep

In your name,

As I try to heal in silence,

I find no words adorned to pray,

My soul cannot live

In your absence,

It is all that I can say.

I am half a man without you,

Life is a mediocre place,

My smile is half-engaged,

My tears dilute in haste,

My thoughts are wasting away,

And my solemn world is torn.

The detrimental waves

Of my emotions,

Call once again,

In the darkness, they play,

With a mournful tune of sadness,

They say your name.

I am half a man without you,

And this is my cross to bear,

There is nothing

That can fill the void,

No light will reach my heart,

For it is missing from you,

And all that you are.

--

--

Wallis May Streete

Mother of three. Freelance writer. Poet. Lyricist. Dreamer. “We are lost souls trying to find the light, and when we do, we dance with shadows.”