I Am A Broken Man

Photo by Tom Chrostek on Unsplash

I am absent from myself,

Hovering in circles above this world,

Trying to make sense of it all,

As the compass of life fails me,

I lose all direction and control.

My mind is overthinking,

Thoughts negate a chance for peace,

Calmness does not exist,

It has left no trace inside of me.

I am a broken man,

Walking beneath the fallen stars,

Tomorrow weeps in my name,

And yesterday is laced with regret,

The paths of time know me well,

They free my spirit,

From the gates of hell,

As I walk alone in search of hope,

The morning winds

Caress my aching pain,

Sunrise comes to rescue me,

The velvet light surrenders,

I bid a final farewell,

And diminish this grief,

That I know too well.

Wallis May Streete

Mother of three. Freelance writer. Poet. Lyricist. Dreamer. “We are lost souls trying to find the light, and when we do, we dance with shadows.”