A Moment Of Pain

Wallis May Streete
1 min readSep 29, 2022

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I find myself

Gazing at the torn reflection,

Of someone that I used to be,

This pale and silent man,

Behind the veil of pain,

Sunken and withdrawn,

I walk the streets alone,

Living in the arms of torment,

Once again.

All of my sadness becomes,

And fills the air with absent hope,

In this aching field, I surrender,

For my strength has diminished,

And my eyes can no longer see,

The beauty in anything.

I wish the stars could rescue me,

And bathe my soul in peace,

For now, I must endure,

The sorrow that lives inside

My aching bones,

Battling through each day,

My mind is afraid of what to say.

As the morning light settles,

I make a wish,

For a moment, I dream,

Of how my life could be,

Will it hear my pleas?

Or ignore my restless heart?

This life,

This unpredictable journey,

Has a hold of me,

And it never let's go.

--

--

Wallis May Streete

Mother of three. Freelance writer. Poet. Lyricist. Dreamer. “We are lost souls trying to find the light, and when we do, we dance with shadows.”